Our battle-of-the-sexes feature at the newspaper I work in is called He Say She Say. I know that is not exactly precisely what He Say She Say means—he say she say refers to gossip and idle rumours, but it fits: when the man writes, we have a logo that reads He Say, and when the woman writes, we have a logo that says She Say.
It might change soon. But not to He Says and She Says, because of what happens when you play loose with the grammar of slang.
Carlton: “What’s the four hundred and eleven, houseboy?”
Will: “You mean ‘What’s the four one one, homeboy.’”
Carlton: “Yeah. What’s the schedule?”
Will: “You mean proggie?”
Carlton: “I mean, where is the party in?”
Will:  “It’s ‘Where’s the party AT, man!”
Carlton: “I just want to know where we will be suspended this Friday night.”
Will: “If you want to know where we’ll be hanging, I’ll tell you, I’m not hanging with you until you stop being local.”
Carlton: “You want me to be foreign, oba what? Listen I am just trying to be pelvic.”
Will: “Pelvic?”
Carlton: “You know (Points at his hip) Pelvic.”

 

The battle-of-the-sexes feature at the newspaper I work in is called He Say She Say. I know that is not exactly precisely what “He Say She Say” means—the phrase refers to gossip and idle rumours, but in this case, it fits: when the man writes, we have a logo that reads “He Say”, and when the woman writes, we have a logo that says “She Say”.

It might change soon. But not to “He Says and She Says” as has been recommended, because of what happens when you play loose with the grammar of slang.

carlton4

 

Carlton: “What’s the four hundred and eleven, houseboy?”

Will: “You mean ‘What’s the four one one, homeboy.’”

Carlton: “Yeah. What’s the schedule?”

Will: “You mean proggie?”

Carlton: “I mean, where is the party in?”

Will:  “It’s ‘Where’s the party at, man!”

Carlton: “I just want to know where we will be suspended this Friday night.”

Will: “If you want to know where we’ll be hanging, I’ll tell you, I’m not hanging with you until you stop being local.”

Carlton: “You want me to be foreign, oba what? Listen: I am just trying to be pelvic.”

Will: “Pelvic?”

Carlton: “You know (Points at his hip) Pelvic.”

 

 

Okay. Time for weekend.

