Tags

, , , , ,

 

Romeo And Juliet, Uganda, mid-eighties.

A play

 

Romeo: Have you ever seen a film of Ed Murphy?

Juliet: I have ever! It is obal! He makes me funny! 

Romeo: Have you ever seen Beval Hills Cop?

Juliet: Eh! I have ever! 

Romeo: Even me! It makes me funny! 

Juliet: I have seen it only once. But I love to see it again!

Romeo: You come at ours. We have a deck at ours. My father she brought from outside countries.

Juliet: But if I come at yours you will con me and Sister told us we do not go where boys con us.

Romeo: I won’t con. You come.

Juliet: You won’t con me?

Romeo: I won’t con you.

Juliet: Okay.

 

Scene II

Act 1

Juliet: You also you.

Romeo: What even you.

Juliet: Why are you catching my dress?

Romeo: Am not catching your dress.

 

Act 2

Juliet: You also you.

Romeo: What even you.

Juliet: Why are you catching on my blouse?

Romeo: Am only catching on a little.

 

Act 3

Juliet: You also you.

Romeo: What even you? 

Juliet: Do harder. Do harder!

Romeo: I more you?

Juliet: More me on.

Romeo: Obal!

 

Scene III

Romeo: But as you are lost.

Juliet: Me am not your friend. Do you know that you even impregnanted me that day?

Romeo: No, me I never impregnanted you. 

Juliet: Am going to tell Sister.

 

Scene IV

Priest: Do you take this girl to be your lawfully wedded wife?

 

Fade, not to the end, but to
The Beginning

 

 

Just before you were born

Just before you were born

