Tags

 

 

worthy opponents

worthy opponents

 

 

Okay, it’s like, that TV of yours, right?  If it was connected to a satellite dish, and if that dish beamed at least three 24-hour news channels into your home, and if it had been connected like this since, like, 1945. And then you met a bright-eyed campus undergrad with long braids and small hands who was impressed to bits that you had managed to have DSTv for this long. 

She would say something to you like, “Dude, you mean you saw the funeral of Gandhi, the I Have A Dream speech, Mandela going in, the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Tiananmen Square protests, Mandela coming out again, all that? Wow!”

How would you go and you tell kyana: “Nah, I didn’t watch that stuff. I never saw how it would affect me. And me there was too much hype. Me I don’t go for things which are too over hyped.”

I would never go so far as to claim that the US presidency has no impact on an African’s life. Because, for starters, I got a good grade in A’Level history for that essay I wrote about how the Cold War influenced post-independence African states. (The Grade B answer was “a lot”). But I’ll be the first to admit that I only paid attention to the Obama/McCain race because it was greatly entertaining. It made for great TV. Even when Obama slipped from the role of Super-Candidate after his nomination, (with more flip flopping and backpedalling than a Hotsteps audition) we soon had a comic villain in Sarah Palin to rejuvenate interest in the show.

But even after the hype and the drama, Barack Obama and John McCain are exceptional men, and whichever one of them wins is poised to do great things.

It’s been a hell of a show and I for one will be glad to tell kids in the future that I had a great seat and saw the whole thing.

