Ear Worms (or The Eternal Internal Jukebox)

You know how some random phrase, casually encountered just out of the blue, will trigger off the memory of some song? And this song will start looping in the back of your mind and never stop ever again? At least not until the next song comes along? Or is it just me?

I am keeping a log of the “ear worms” today.
10:00am- Staring at the Sun by U2

I was looking for new desktop wallpaper and landed on a picture of a planet emerging from behind the sun. Very picturesque. (No, that is not the wallpaper I used. I settled on Liv Tyler. It is a Teusday. The rationale that links Tyler with Tuesday may not be clear, but trust me, it exists.)
That was enough to get Bono’s sepulchral, soulless zombie wail echoing through my head.
 

11:30 am
The theme of Two and A Half Men.

A friend says, “I’m bored and disgruntled. Maybe I’ll get a boyfriend to distract me.” The discussion leads to the option of senseless, meaningless, commitment-free liaisons instead of boyfriends. Like Charlie in the second GREATEST SITCOM ALIVE OMG OMG TOTALLY!!!!111!!.
Now all I am hearing is the theme song of Two and A Half Men.

11:58
What a Life, by Saigon.

He is an underground rapper you may not have heard of. This worm got in because David asked for some music. While I was copying the files to his flash disc, I noticed this one. Nice. Started humming it. At last a worm that comes in through the front door.

1:10 pm
Joe Le Taxi, by Vanessa Paradis

Not very imaginative, I know, but while walking to the taxi stage I somehow picked up Joe Le Taxi. Trouble is I don’t really know the words, so my head just mumbled, “Joe Le Taxi, su kaaabo, (turump!) Alimumaaso, alasiri (turump!) Joe Le Taxi (turummm-tuRUMP!)” etc. etc.

3:30pm
Champagne Supernova, by Oasis
I have no idea what started this, but I love the song, so I am grateful. In fact I decided to play it properly. From the beginning to the bridge to the end. Making little air-guitar movements with my fingers.

3:38pm
&^£$£@!!

Guy in the taxi next to me has one of those fancy-ass phones which have actual songs as ringtones. And this &*%£Grunt!Grunt!!?*$$!! had a Kenny G song to alert him of incoming phonecalls.
Before I developed the sophisticated and enlightened jazz tastes I have now, before I became a jazz snob, I actually owned Kenny G’s Breathless. So I kind of know the songs. Which means that they can actually loop through the jukebox…I had to gird my mental loins against it. Champagne Supernova! I demanded. Champagne! Super! Nova!

3:41pm
Umbrella, Rihanna

Back in the office to update this blog post. I get to the comments. Soulchild and Victoria are talking about Umbrella. The Gallagher brothers crumble before the force of that song.

3:50pm
Got yourself a…
By Nas (and,  jumping in and out, the Sopranos)

I am IM-chatting with one of my peoples and this particular peoples, in the course of the chat, declares, “I need to get myself a life.”
In my head, like clockwork, it begins: “Woke up this morning… Got yourself a gun! Got yourself a gun. Got yourself a…”
 

26 thoughts on “Ear Worms (or The Eternal Internal Jukebox)

  1. Jay is back!!!!!! Woohoo.

    Okay I need to dust my teeth from that Jay-roller on the floor. Welcome back Jay. Seriously….still at LEHOMMENOIR???

    I had something serious to say about Two and a half men…but that Jay-scapede threw my mind off…But one thing is for sure…it’s the 2nd greatest sitcom EYVAH!!!! After Friends..

  2. Cheri, I hear you on Friends.. though I have heard of something called Sex and the City that I haven’t seen yet.

    Baz, your earworms last 1.5 hours max?? Lucky you. Mine go an and on… for a day at least. Especially Ella Ella Eh. Darn that song.

  3. Sex and the City rocks, go find it victoria. ….ella ella under my underwear. ooops, umbrella. cant seem to get it out of my head too!

  4. you have really weird earworms, baz….
    does anyone know wat the german for earworm is? its a fascinating word, but it escapes me now… crap!

    oh, my current worm is Let it go- that Keyshia Cole song. and not the whole song, but like 2 lines… aargh!!

  5. Anonymous lol,…your ovum has 2 lines and is asking to be let go? Brings to mind what is now my earworm – CBS Kalisoliso: Ze faza of a twini is a Salongo. Andi ze maza (together everybody) obviously Nalongo.

  6. Heard of My Song in the Trench? It’s one of them things, oozing patriotism, that the KPA (greatest army in the world, defending North Korea) sings.
    Rousing shit. :-D

    Nice revenge for your blasphemy – where is Bob Marley on that list? Can you lie down? Where’s my cane? :-)

  7. I knew there was a reason why I should have walked away from your blog today.

    So much pain in my life
    If you knew the pain I sustained
    Just from lettin’ my gun bang
    If you would pump your breaks young man
    You’d jump in the other lane

    And it won’t stop. Stupid Saigon. Silly Baz ear worms.

  8. lol @ Minty and Baz… that’s not what i meant, but anyway…

    My update: Subliminal by Floetry. and more than 2 lines this time, yay!

  9. Those jobless peeps in Big brother are trying to impress, singing some song about poverty or something and the song sounds awful. Pray for me. I dont want that on loop in my head for the rest of this day.

    @Iwaya: worm? you of course.

  10. did someone say umbrella? that then brings that earworm to life, fat joe, make it rain,
    ….Yeah im in this business of terror Got a handful of stacks better grab an umbrella
    I make it rain,(I make it rain)
    I’m in this business of terror got a handful of stacks Better grab an umbrella
    I make it rain, (I make it rain)
    I make it rain on them ho….

    i better cut him off there since i wish not homicide on my person…. welcome back?…that brings back mase’s …arrrgh! i am out!

  11. Nowadays evrybody wanna talk
    coz they got something to say
    But when it comes out
    when they move their lips
    jus’ bunch of gibberish
    The @#$%*** out
    coz its all about DRE.

Leave a Reply

