You’re gonna love her

Jenny Hudson

Here is some great news for music lovers. No, not the gruesome death of Sean “Fucking” Kingston by a severe and protracted mauling delivered by a voracious pack of rabid wolves, better than that.

Jennifer Hudson’s album has a release date.

What about!!! Three exclamation marks!

I’m listening to streams off myspace.com/jenniferhudson. They put some music up to promote the first single off the Jenny (yeah. We are that tight. Jenny it is) album.

It is  called Spotlight, and is mellow-ish mid-tempo and not too beat-y, so it will get the undiscerning groundlings to nod their little empty heads while not overshadowing her actual vocals, which are, ultimately, the point of a Jenny Hudson performance.

The other joints her myspace showcases are ballads. And this is as it should be.
Stand Up puts that powerful thoat (in African American they don’t pronounce it “throat”. They say “Thoat”. At least according to this dude on Def Comedy Jam. They also say fitty instead of fifty and hunnid instead of hundred, hurr instead of hair, and aks instead of ask. Etc.) to appropriately soulful use. I tell you, you can switch straight from Aretha and Gladys Knight to this song without even feeling the seam as you transition.

I was actually thinking of Gidda (Gladys Knight and I are also tight) when we moved to the third song on the myspace playlist. Neither One Of Us. Yes the cover. If this is the sort of thing she was doing during her shot on American Idols, I wish they had told me. I could have got a telesaver card and voted. Many many times.

Speaking of which. What the fuck is going on? Cynthia is still in Idols?

We are on another song now. Starts with some dude talking. I could google and find out who he is, but I don’t want to spoil my stream. Sounds like Usher. But I hope it isn’t him, because I stopped liking Usher after he dissed Chilli. And that song of his, I Want To Have Sex In This Club, is just profane.

Heh heh. She said “I cayin’t” instead of I Cant. This African American English is very amusing.

Okay. I couldn’t take the suspense and googled after the song buffered sufficiently. Only to realise, to my utter shock and dismay that it was Ne-Yo.
And that this song is actually on his album.

Which sucks because I had been having so much fun hating on Ne-Yo.
OOOOOOooooooOOooOoOOOOOothesoundsofsuddenonsetofparoxysmsofJOY!!! Because the next song is And I’m Telling You.

This song makes me want to crawl under me desk and curl up and weep until a puddle so large develops on the floor that it causes the wiring to short circuit.

In other words, it is just one of the best vocal performances I have heard since Whitney went and got high. My goodness this reduces me to such tears. I am a quivering mass of gooseflesh now. Oh. My.

Okay. If you are in America where they say Thoat and Cayint, please call your local radio station and request Spotlight. We must make this a hit and ensure that the album does drop in September as opposed to it being put on Katebe.

And if you are in the real world (eg Uganda) please find someone you know who lives in America and tell them to call and request it.

And then when it drops I will buy a copy (this is too good to bootleg) and lend you some.

 

36 thoughts on “You’re gonna love her

  1. @DeTamble> i actually do….nothin all day, just sit around waitin 4 e Baz blog.want me to stalk u instead?
    n it was all 4 nothin. as long as it ain’t rock a gal don’t be losin no hurr ora eyt.

  2. @Pinky: Hell you can stalk me! Want my home address? You could send me threatening or suggestive letters written from cut up newspapers. I would like that.

    @Baz: I actually kind of like Sean Kingston and would be a little upset if he was mauled by rabid wolves. I enjoyed his Beautiful Girls clip, since one of the girls in it was damn hot.

  3. Shiro, you and me understand these things.

    DeT, your priest needs to heal your ears. Kingston MUST DIE!!

    @Pinky, what’s rock without soul? The two should go together as it was in the beginning when they were one.

    @Minty, you didn’t even have to aks.

    @Tandra, I wasn’t going to watch it because Beyonce still owes me for Pink Panther, but then I heard that Eddie Murphy had put in an Oscar worthy performance and that, I had to see. I don’t regret it.

    @Ivan, what about. Stop lusting after the woman.

    @ 3threeet, click the link. Cluck-cluck-cluck cluck.

  4. While we are still on Afro-American pronunciations…was wathcing this clip with Dave Chappelle where he was in court and he pledges the fifth ammendment and then he proceeds to spell it…FIF!!! I died.

    Ok, just been to some dodgy download site and listened to And I’m telling u…It’s nice. Now to search for an illegal download site for the whole album even before it’s outed.

    Meanwhile, Baz, stop hating on ~Usher. I’m loving that song at the moment.

    D’u know I honestly didn’t know she was outting a record.

    Ok, I hope she make all these wakina Beyonce and Ashanti eat her dust!!!

  5. Baz, I got goosebumps too, just reading your descriptions, and remembering her in Dreamgirls. I didn’t pee though, which is what I am sure you will do under the desk and pass off as a puddle of tears.

    Supreme, invite me we watch together

  6. wait a minute. i go away for three seconds and you change your template on me.

    and yes he is.

    i shall hunt you down Baz. i went to watch that christine video.

    now look, i am deaf in one ear and acquired a permanent furrow down the middle of my forehead from frowning and at the same time plugging my ears while trying to stop the racket by hitting the space bar with said.

    and this jenni [not] from the block might take a while, about forever, not really feeling her at all, or is it because i listened to christine first?

    not really.

    no.

  7. Mbu he is a liar!
    Chuckles too

    About Miss Hudson… Girl can sing
    Baz, are you a fan of Joss Stone too, since you are saying Giddy, Aretha are your tights…

    Appreciate the post…

  8. hmmm as if we didn’t already know that he is a liar…
    i don’t see any hands up trynna say you ain’t Baz.
    @ ms cheri we totally believe u…. u n Baz are LIARS….

  9. Zooming? I learn something new each day…

    Baz, I need to like at least ONE thing about the woman… I am still trying to get into her. . .her music.

  10. Choka Ms Cheri, trying to pimp up the word. it is ‘Aate’ not ‘Attey’. Aer you tring to be like the ‘Thoatters’ and ‘Cayints’? Girl, you are African Ugandan, not African American

Leave a Reply

